17000000
Permit Holders In The USA
20000
Permit Holders In Minnesota
0
States That honor Minnesota
0
States Minnesota Honors
Quick Facts About Minnesota's Permit to Carry
Carrying In A Vehicle
Details
Must Notify Officer
Details
State Park Carry
Details
Gun Signs Enforced
Details
Open Carry
Details
Restaurant/Bar Carry
Details
Constitutional Carry
Details

Minnesota Permit to Carry

Information on the Minnesota Permit to Carry 

Overview of the Minnesota Permit to Carry System

All individuals under Minnesota law are required to obtain a permit to carry a handgun in public. You do not need a permit to carry a handgun around your home or place of business, more details are in the statues section below. The permit to carry is also valid as a permit to purchase.

Requirements

To qualify for a Minnesota Permit to Carry applicants must meet these criteria.
  • Must be at least 21 years old
  • You must be a US citizen or legal alien.
  • Completed a firearms training course.
  • No felony conviction
  • No drug violations
  • No violent crimes
  • No misdemeanor punishable by more than two years in prison
  • You must not have any outstanding warrants
  • You must not be subject to a current restraining order
  • It must be more than five years since any treatment for drug or alcohol addiction.
  • If you have been hospitalized for mental illness, you must submit an affidavit from a registered physician endorsing your ability to possess a firearm.

Address and Name Changes

 

The issuing Sheriff’s Department must be informed within 30 days if you change your name or permanent address. An updated permit can be obtained for a fee of $10. Failing to notify the Sheriff of any name or permanent address change is a petty misdemeanor.

Permit Valid For

 

5 Years

Lost or Destroyed Permits

 

If a permit is stolen or lost then the issuing sheriff must be notified within 30 days. The sheriff will also require a notarized statement that the permit has been lost or stolen. Replacement permits can be obtained for $10. Failure to notify the sheriff within 30 days that your permit has been lost or stolen is a petty misdemeanor.

Fee Schedule

 
Application New Renewal
Permit to Carry
Up to $100
Up to $75
Replacement Card
$10
$10

Non-Resident Permits

 

Permits to carry are issued to non-residents. The application process and the fee is the same as for residents. The only difference is that non-residents can apply at any Minnesota county sheriff’s office.

Note

Application fees for a permit to carry in Minnesota vary in each county and are set by the county sheriff’s office. The sheriff’s office is restricted by law as to the maximum amount they can charge for a permit. For new permits, the fee cannot be set to more than $100 and $75 for renewals. There is a $10 late fee if a renewal application is made after the permits expiry date. The late fee can only be charged for up to 30 days after the permits expiry date and then a new permit application must be filed.

Subd. 2.

  • (a) Applications by Minnesota residents for permits to carry shall be made to the county sheriff where the applicant resides. Nonresidents, as defined in section 171.01, subdivision 42, may apply to any sheriff.
  • (b) Unless a sheriff denies a permit under the exception set forth in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (3), a sheriff must issue a permit to an applicant if the person:
  1. has training in the safe use of a pistol;
  2. is at least 21 years old and a citizen or a permanent resident of the United States;
  3. completes an application for a permit;
  4. is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under the following sections:
  • (i) 518B.01, subdivision 14;
  • (ii) 609.224, subdivision 3;
  • (iii) 609.2242, subdivision 3;
  • (iv) 609.749, subdivision 8;
  • (v) 624.713;
  • (vi) 624.719;
  • (vii) 629.715, subdivision 2;
  • (viii) 629.72, subdivision 2; or
  • (ix) any federal law; and
  • is not listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.
  • (c) A permit to carry a pistol issued or recognized under this section is a state permit and is effective throughout the state.
  • (d) A sheriff may contract with a police chief to process permit applications under this section. If a sheriff contracts with a police chief, the sheriff remains the issuing authority and the police chief acts as the sheriff’s agent. If a sheriff contracts with a police chief, all of the provisions of this section will apply.

624.714(2) – Minnesota Statutes

Subd. 21.

Fees collected by sheriffs under this section and not forwarded to the commissioner must be used only to pay the direct costs of administering this section. Fee money may be used to pay the costs of appeals of prevailing applicants or permit holders under subdivision 8, paragraph (c); subdivision 12, paragraph (e); and subdivision 16, paragraph (c). Fee money may also be used to pay the reasonable costs of the county attorney to represent the sheriff in proceedings under this section. The revenues must be maintained in a segregated fund. Fund balances must be carried over from year to year and do not revert to any other fund. As part of the information supplied under subdivision 20, paragraph (b), by January 31 of each year, a sheriff must report to the commissioner on the sheriff’s segregated fund for the preceding calendar year, including information regarding:

  1.  nature and amount of revenues;
  2.  nature and amount of expenditures; and
  3.  nature and amount of balances.

624.714(21) – Minnesota Statutes

Subd. 7a.

  • (a) Within 30 days after changing permanent address, or within 30 days of having lost or destroyed the permit card, the permit holder must notify the issuing sheriff of the change, loss, or destruction. Failure to provide notification as required by this subdivision is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.
  • (b) After notice is given under paragraph (a), a permit holder may obtain a replacement permit card by paying $10 to the sheriff. The request for a replacement permit card must be made on an official, standardized application adopted for this purpose under section 624.7151, and, except in the case of an address change, must include a notarized statement that the permit card has been lost or destroyed.

A permit to carry is not required of a person:

  • To keep or carry about the person’s place of business, dwelling house, premises or on land possessed by the person a pistol;
  • To carry a pistol from a place of purchase to the person’s dwelling house or place of business, or from the person’s dwelling house or place of business to or from a place where repairing is done, to have the pistol repaired;
  • To carry a pistol between the person’s dwelling house and place of business;
  • To carry a pistol in the woods or fields or upon the waters of this state for the purpose of hunting or of target shooting in a safe area;
  • To transport a pistol in a motor vehicle, snowmobile or boat if the pistol is unloaded, contained in a closed and fastened case, gun box, or securely tied package.

Minnesota Permit to Carry Application

How to apply for a Minnesota Permit to Carry

Training Requirements

Under Minnesota law, applicants for a permit to carry are required to provide evidence that they have completed a training course on the safe use of a handgun within 1 year of either a permit application or renewal. The course must be provided by a BCA Certified Instructor. 

Requirements

 
  • Instructions on how to use a pistol.
  • Successful completion of a shooting exercise.
  • Legal aspects of Possessing, carrying, and using a pistol.
  • When deadly force can be used and restrictions on its use.

When Required

 

Within one year of the application for a CCW permit. Attendance at a firearms training course is required for original and renewal applications for a CCW permit.

Military

 

Military personnel are not exempt from training. They must complete the same standard course that Minnesota state residents take. 

Accepted Courses

 
  • Peace officers employed in Minnesota within the last year.
  • The Sheriff may also accept other evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol. However, the law does not define what the evidence can be so it is left up to the discretion of the sheriff.
  • (a) An applicant must present evidence that the applicant received training in the safe use of a pistol within one year of the date of an original or renewal application. Training may be demonstrated by:
    1. employment as a peace officer in the state of Minnesota within the past year; or
    2. completion of a firearms safety or training course providing basic training in the safe use of a pistol and conducted by a certified instructor.
  • (b) Basic training must include:
    1. instruction in the fundamentals of pistol use;
    2. successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise; and
    3. instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including self-defense and the restrictions on the use of deadly force.
  • (c) The certified instructor must issue a certificate to a person who has completed a firearms safety or training course described in paragraph (b) The certificate must be signed by the instructor and attest that the person attended and completed the course.
  • (d) A person qualifies as a certified instructor if the person is certified as a firearms instructor within the past five years by an organization or government entity that has been approved by the Department of Public Safety in accordance with the department’s standards.
  • (e) A sheriff must accept the training described in this subdivision as meeting the requirement in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), for training in the safe use of a pistol. A sheriff may also accept other satisfactory evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol.

624.714(2)(a) – Minnesota Statutes

Permit to Carry Application Procedure

Residents of Minnesota will need to file their permit applications with the local county sheriff while non-residents can file their application at any county Sheriff's Department.

1

You will need to complete a firearms training course within one year prior to your permit application.

 

2

Download the Permit To Carry a Pistol application form. You can also pick the application form up at your county sheriff’s department.

 

3

 

Check that you have these documents;

  • A completed application form.
  • A photocopy of your firearms training course certificate.
  • A photocopy of identification can be a state driver’s license, ID card, or the photo page from your passport.

4

You will then need to submit the completed application and documents to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence. Non-residents may submit the application at any Minnesota county sheriff’s office.

5

 

You will be notified within 30 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.

Note

  • The law states that the county sheriff has 30 days from the application date in which to approve or deny a carry permit.
  • If a person is wrongfully denied a permit (decided by courts) then the sheriff is required to reimburse all legal fees incurred by the applicant.
  • A carry permit is a valid purchase permit and authorizes unlimited purchases for the life of the permit, (5 years).

§Subdivision 1. Ineligible persons.

The following persons shall not be entitled to possess ammunition or a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon or, except for clause (1), any other firearm:

  1. a person under the age of 18 years except that a person under 18 may possess ammunition designed for use in a firearm that the person may lawfully possess and may carry or possess a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon (i) in the actual presence or under the direct supervision of the person’s parent or guardian, (ii) for the purpose of military drill under the auspices of a legally recognized military organization and under competent supervision, (iii) for the purpose of instruction, competition, or target practice on a firing range approved by the chief of police or county sheriff in whose jurisdiction the range is located and under direct supervision; or (iv) if the person has successfully completed a course designed to teach marksmanship and safety with a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon and approved by the commissioner of natural resources;
  2.  except as otherwise provided in clause (9), a person who has been convicted of, or adjudicated delinquent or convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile for committing, in this state or elsewhere, a crime of violence. For purposes of this section, crime of violence includes crimes in other states or jurisdictions which would have been crimes of violence as herein defined if they had been committed in this state;
  3.  a person who is or has ever been committed in Minnesota or elsewhere by a judicial determination that the person is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and dangerous to the public, as defined in section 253B.02, to a treatment facility, or who has ever been found incompetent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of mental illness, unless the person’s ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4;
  4.  a person who has been convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor violation of chapter 152, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other such violation of chapter 152 or a similar law of another state; or a person who is or has ever been committed by a judicial determination for treatment for the habitual use of a controlled substance or marijuana, as defined in sections 152.01 and 152.02, unless the person’s ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4;
  5.  a person who has been committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere by a judicial determination that the person is chemically dependent as defined in section 253B.02, unless the person has completed treatment or the person’s ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4. Property rights may not be abated but access may be restricted by the courts;
  6.  a peace officer who is informally admitted to a treatment facility pursuant to section 253B.04 for chemical dependency, unless the officer possesses a certificate from the head of the treatment facility discharging or provisionally discharging the officer from the treatment facility. Property rights may not be abated but access may be restricted by the courts;
  7.  a person, including a person under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, who has been charged with committing a crime of violence and has been placed in a pretrial diversion program by the court before disposition, until the person has completed the diversion program and the charge of committing the crime of violence has been dismissed;
  8.  except as otherwise provided in clause (9), a person who has been convicted in another state of committing an offense similar to the offense described in section 609.224, subdivision 3, against a family or household member or section 609.2242, subdivision 3, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other violation of section 609.224, subdivision 3, or 609.2242, subdivision 3, or a similar law of another state;
  9.  a person who has been convicted in this state or elsewhere of assaulting a family or household member and who was found by the court to have used a firearm in any way during commission of the assault is prohibited from possessing any type of firearm or ammunition for the period determined by the sentencing court;
  10.  a person who:
    1.  has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year;
    2.  is a fugitive from justice as a result of having fled from any state to avoid prosecution for a crime or to avoid giving testimony in any criminal proceeding;
    3.  is an unlawful user of any controlled substance as defined in chapter 152;
    4.  has been judicially committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as a person who is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and dangerous to the public, as defined in section 253B.02;
    5.  is an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States;
    6.  has been discharged from the armed forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions;
    7.  has renounced the person’s citizenship having been a citizen of the United States; or
    8.  is disqualified from possessing a firearm under United States Code, title 18, section 922(g)(8) or (9), as amended through March 1, 2014;
  11.  a person who has been convicted of the following offenses at the gross misdemeanor level, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other violation of these sections: section 609.229 (crimes committed for the benefit of a gang); 609.2231, subdivision 4 (assaults motivated by bias); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child); 609.582, subdivision 4 (burglary in the fourth degree); 609.665 (setting a spring gun); 609.71 (riot); or 609.749 (harassment or stalking). For purposes of this paragraph, the specified gross misdemeanor convictions include crimes committed in other states or jurisdictions which would have been gross misdemeanors if conviction occurred in this state;
  12.  a person who has been convicted of a violation of section 609.224 if the court determined that the assault was against a family or household member in accordance with section 609.2242, subdivision 3 (domestic assault), unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of another violation of section 609.224 or a violation of a section listed in clause (11); or
  13.  a person who is subject to an order for protection as described in section 260C.201, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), or 518B.01, subdivision 6, paragraph (g).

A person who issues a certificate pursuant to this section in good faith is not liable for damages resulting or arising from the actions or misconduct with a firearm or ammunition committed by the individual who is the subject of the certificate.

The prohibition in this subdivision relating to the possession of firearms other than pistols and semiautomatic military-style assault weapons does not apply retroactively to persons who are prohibited from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon under this subdivision before August 1, 1994.

The lifetime prohibition on possessing, receiving, shipping, or transporting firearms and ammunition for persons convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a crime of violence in clause (2), applies only to offenders who are discharged from sentence or court supervision for a crime of violence on or after August 1, 1993. For purposes of this section, “judicial determination” means a court proceeding pursuant to sections 253B.07 to 253B.09 or a comparable law from another state.

Subd. 3.

  • (a) Applications for permits to carry must be an official, standardized application form, adopted under section 624.7151, and must set forth in writing only the following information:
    1.  the applicant’s name, residence, telephone number, if any, and driver’s license number or state identification card number;
    2.  the applicant’s sex, date of birth, height, weight, and color of eyes and hair, and distinguishing physical characteristics, if any;
    3.  the township or statutory city or home rule charter city, and county, of all Minnesota residences of the applicant in the last five years, though not including specific addresses;
    4.  the township or city, county, and state of all non-Minnesota residences of the applicant in the last five years, though not including specific addresses;
    5.  a statement that the applicant authorizes the release to the sheriff of commitment information about the applicant maintained by the commissioner of human services or any similar agency or department of another state where the applicant has resided, to the extent that the information relates to the applicant’s eligibility to possess a firearm; and
    6.  a statement by the applicant that, to the best of the applicant’s knowledge and belief, the applicant is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. (b) The statement under paragraph (a), clause (5), must comply with any applicable requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 2.31 to 2.35, with respect to consent to disclosure of alcohol or drug abuse patient records.
  • (c) An applicant must submit to the sheriff an application packet consisting only of the following items:
    1.  a completed application form, signed and dated by the applicant;
    2.  an accurate photocopy of the certificate described in subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), that is submitted as the applicant’s evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol; and
    3.  an accurate photocopy of the applicant’s current driver’s license, state identification card, or the photo page of the applicant’s passport.
  • (d) In addition to the other application materials, a person who is otherwise ineligible for a permit due to a criminal conviction but who has obtained a pardon or expungement setting aside the conviction, sealing the conviction, or otherwise restoring applicable rights, must submit a copy of the relevant order.
  • (e) Applications must be submitted in person.
  • (f) The sheriff may charge a new application processing fee in an amount not to exceed the actual and reasonable direct cost of processing the application or $100, whichever is less. Of this amount, $10 must be submitted to the commissioner and deposited into the general fund.
  • (g) This subdivision prescribes the complete and exclusive set of items an applicant is required to submit in order to apply for a new or renewal permit to carry. The applicant must not be asked or required to submit, voluntarily or involuntarily, any information, fees, or documentation beyond that specifically required by this subdivision. This paragraph does not apply to alternate training evidence accepted by the sheriff under subdivision 2a, paragraph (d).
  • (h) Forms for new and renewal applications must be available at all sheriffs’ offices and the commissioner must make the forms available on the Internet.
  • (i) Application forms must clearly display a notice that a permit, if granted, is void and must be immediately returned to the sheriff if the permit holder is or becomes prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. The notice must list the applicable state criminal offenses and civil categories that prohibit a person from possessing a firearm.
  • (j) Upon receipt of an application packet and any required fee, the sheriff must provide a signed receipt indicating the date of submission.

Subd. 6.

  • (a) The sheriff must, within 30 days after the date of receipt of the application packet described in subdivision 3:
  1. issue the permit to carry;
  2. deny the application for a permit to carry solely on the grounds that the applicant failed to qualify under the criteria described in subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or
  3. deny the application on the grounds that there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public if authorized to carry a pistol under a permit.
  • (b) Failure of the sheriff to notify the applicant of the denial of the application within 30 days after the date of receipt of the application packet constitutes issuance of the permit to carry and the sheriff must promptly fulfill the requirements under paragraph
  • (c). To deny the application, the sheriff must provide the applicant with written notification and the specific factual basis justifying the denial under paragraph (a), clause (2) or (3), including the source of the factual basis. The sheriff must inform the applicant of the applicant’s right to submit, within 20 business days, any additional documentation relating to the propriety of the denial. Upon receiving any additional documentation, the sheriff must reconsider the denial and inform the applicant within 15 business days of the result of the reconsideration. Any denial after reconsideration must be in the same form and substance as the original denial and must specifically address any continued deficiencies in light of the additional documentation submitted by the applicant. The applicant must be informed of the right to seek de novo review of the denial as provided in subdivision 12. (c) Upon issuing a permit to carry, the sheriff must provide a laminated permit card to the applicant by first class mail unless personal delivery has been made. Within five business days, the sheriff must submit the information specified in subdivision 7, paragraph (a), to the commissioner for inclusion solely in the database required under subdivision 15, paragraph (a). The sheriff must transmit the information in a manner and format prescribed by the commissioner.
  • (d) Within five business days of learning that a permit to carry has been suspended or revoked, the sheriff must submit information to the commissioner regarding the suspension or revocation for inclusion solely in the databases required or permitted under subdivision 15.
  • (e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), the sheriff may suspend the application process if a charge is pending against the applicant that, if resulting in conviction, will prohibit the applicant from possessing a firearm.

Subd. 12.

  • (a) Any person aggrieved by denial or revocation of a permit to carry may appeal by petition to the district court having jurisdiction over the county or municipality where the application was submitted. The petition must list the sheriff as the respondent. The district court must hold a hearing at the earliest practicable date and in any event no later than 60 days following the filing of the petition for review. The court may not grant or deny any relief before the completion of the hearing. The record of the hearing must be sealed. The matter must be heard de novo without a jury.
  • (b) The court must issue written findings of fact and conclusions of law regarding the issues submitted by the parties. The court must issue its writ of mandamus directing that the permit be issued and order other appropriate relief unless the sheriff establishes by clear and convincing evidence:
    1.  that the applicant is disqualified under the criteria described in subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or
    2.  that there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public if authorized to carry a pistol under a permit. Incidents of alleged criminal misconduct that are not investigated and documented may not be considered.
  • (c) If an applicant is denied a permit on the grounds that the applicant is listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091, the person may challenge the denial, after disclosure under court supervision of the reason for that listing, based on grounds that the person:
    1.  was erroneously identified as a person in the data system;
    2.  was improperly included in the data system according to the criteria outlined in section 299C.091, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or
    3.  has demonstrably withdrawn from the activities and associations that led to inclusion in the data system.
  • (d) If the court grants a petition brought under paragraph (a), the court must award the applicant or permit holder reasonable costs and expenses including attorney fees.

Permit to Carry Renewal Procedure

1

First of all, check your permits expiry date with the list below. How you proceed will be determined as too were the permits expiry date fits into the below list. If 31 days have elapsed since the expiry date then you cannot renew the permit and will need to apply for a new one.

 

2

You will need to complete an authorized firearms training course within one year before you file your renewal application. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to complete the course before the expiry date on your permit and do not leave everything to the last minute.

3

 

Download the renewal application form. This is the same form used for initial permit applications and all you need to do is check the renewal box on the form.

4

Check that you have these documents;

  • Application form
  • Photocopy of your firearms training certificate
  • A state driver’s license or state ID card or the photo page of your passport.
  • I-551 or I-151 card if you are not a US citizen but a permanent resident.

5

 

Minnesota law requires that all permits be renewed in person and are issued through the sheriff’s office. So you will need to deliver in person the above-listed documents to the sheriff’s office in the county that you reside in. Non-residents can deliver the documents to any Minnesota sheriff’s office.

 

Expiration Dates

  • 90 days before the expiration date – Permits can be renewed within this time period.
  • 30 days after expiration date – Permits can still be renewed but there will be an additional late fee of $10.
  • 31 days after the expiration date – Permits can no longer be renewed. You will need to begin a new application for a permit to carry.

NOTE – Expired permits are not valid until a new card is issued.

 

§Subdivision 1. Ineligible persons.

The following persons shall not be entitled to possess ammunition or a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon or, except for clause (1), any other firearm:

  1. a person under the age of 18 years except that a person under 18 may possess ammunition designed for use in a firearm that the person may lawfully possess and may carry or possess a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon (i) in the actual presence or under the direct supervision of the person’s parent or guardian, (ii) for the purpose of military drill under the auspices of a legally recognized military organization and under competent supervision, (iii) for the purpose of instruction, competition, or target practice on a firing range approved by the chief of police or county sheriff in whose jurisdiction the range is located and under direct supervision; or (iv) if the person has successfully completed a course designed to teach marksmanship and safety with a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon and approved by the commissioner of natural resources;
  2.  except as otherwise provided in clause (9), a person who has been convicted of, or adjudicated delinquent or convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile for committing, in this state or elsewhere, a crime of violence. For purposes of this section, crime of violence includes crimes in other states or jurisdictions which would have been crimes of violence as herein defined if they had been committed in this state;
  3.  a person who is or has ever been committed in Minnesota or elsewhere by a judicial determination that the person is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and dangerous to the public, as defined in section 253B.02, to a treatment facility, or who has ever been found incompetent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of mental illness, unless the person’s ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4;
  4.  a person who has been convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor violation of chapter 152, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other such violation of chapter 152 or a similar law of another state; or a person who is or has ever been committed by a judicial determination for treatment for the habitual use of a controlled substance or marijuana, as defined in sections 152.01 and 152.02, unless the person’s ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4;
  5.  a person who has been committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere by a judicial determination that the person is chemically dependent as defined in section 253B.02, unless the person has completed treatment or the person’s ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4. Property rights may not be abated but access may be restricted by the courts;
  6.  a peace officer who is informally admitted to a treatment facility pursuant to section 253B.04 for chemical dependency, unless the officer possesses a certificate from the head of the treatment facility discharging or provisionally discharging the officer from the treatment facility. Property rights may not be abated but access may be restricted by the courts;
  7.  a person, including a person under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, who has been charged with committing a crime of violence and has been placed in a pretrial diversion program by the court before disposition, until the person has completed the diversion program and the charge of committing the crime of violence has been dismissed;
  8.  except as otherwise provided in clause (9), a person who has been convicted in another state of committing an offense similar to the offense described in section 609.224, subdivision 3, against a family or household member or section 609.2242, subdivision 3, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other violation of section 609.224, subdivision 3, or 609.2242, subdivision 3, or a similar law of another state;
  9.  a person who has been convicted in this state or elsewhere of assaulting a family or household member and who was found by the court to have used a firearm in any way during commission of the assault is prohibited from possessing any type of firearm or ammunition for the period determined by the sentencing court;
  10.  a person who:
    1.  has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year;
    2.  is a fugitive from justice as a result of having fled from any state to avoid prosecution for a crime or to avoid giving testimony in any criminal proceeding;
    3.  is an unlawful user of any controlled substance as defined in chapter 152;
    4.  has been judicially committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as a person who is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and dangerous to the public, as defined in section 253B.02;
    5.  is an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States;
    6.  has been discharged from the armed forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions;
    7.  has renounced the person’s citizenship having been a citizen of the United States; or
    8.  is disqualified from possessing a firearm under United States Code, title 18, section 922(g)(8) or (9), as amended through March 1, 2014;
  11.  a person who has been convicted of the following offenses at the gross misdemeanor level, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other violation of these sections: section 609.229 (crimes committed for the benefit of a gang); 609.2231, subdivision 4 (assaults motivated by bias); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child); 609.582, subdivision 4 (burglary in the fourth degree); 609.665 (setting a spring gun); 609.71 (riot); or 609.749 (harassment or stalking). For purposes of this paragraph, the specified gross misdemeanor convictions include crimes committed in other states or jurisdictions which would have been gross misdemeanors if conviction occurred in this state;
  12.  a person who has been convicted of a violation of section 609.224 if the court determined that the assault was against a family or household member in accordance with section 609.2242, subdivision 3 (domestic assault), unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of another violation of section 609.224 or a violation of a section listed in clause (11); or
  13.  a person who is subject to an order for protection as described in section 260C.201, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), or 518B.01, subdivision 6, paragraph (g).

A person who issues a certificate pursuant to this section in good faith is not liable for damages resulting or arising from the actions or misconduct with a firearm or ammunition committed by the individual who is the subject of the certificate.

The prohibition in this subdivision relating to the possession of firearms other than pistols and semiautomatic military-style assault weapons does not apply retroactively to persons who are prohibited from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon under this subdivision before August 1, 1994.

The lifetime prohibition on possessing, receiving, shipping, or transporting firearms and ammunition for persons convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a crime of violence in clause (2), applies only to offenders who are discharged from sentence or court supervision for a crime of violence on or after August 1, 1993. For purposes of this section, “judicial determination” means a court proceeding pursuant to sections 253B.07 to 253B.09 or a comparable law from another state.

Restricted Carry Locations

Places listed as off-limits still apply if you have a Minnesota permit to carry.

Restricted Carry Locations

The locations under the restricted tab are off-limits to any person carrying a handgun. This includes persons who have a permit to carry from Minnesota or any other state.
  • Restricted
  • Permitted
  • Public or private elementary, middle or secondary school building and grounds;
  • A child care center while children are present;
  • School buses being used to transport elementary, middle, or secondary school students to and from school-related activities,
  • Portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a public or private school where signs are posted;
  • Public colleges and universities (may have policies restricting the carrying of weapons on their premises by employees and students while on campus);
  • Minnesota courts have ruled that a church may prohibit firearms from its property, including parking facilities and parking areas owned or operated by the church, and may notify its employees and the public in any manner it chooses;
  • Private establishments that have posted a sign banning guns on their premises;
  • Places of employment, public or private, if employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by its employees;
  • Innkeepers may refuse to admit or refuse service or accommodations to any person the innkeeper reasonably believes is bringing firearms into the hotel;
  • Any public place when under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or any combination thereof;
  • State correctional facilities; State hospitals and grounds; Any jail, lockup or correctional facility;
  • and Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation.
  • Carry in restaurants that serve alcohol?  Yes, provided you are not under the influence or the business is not posted.
  • Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes/No (Must be unloaded and cased without a permit)
  • Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes, with a permit.
  • Carry in State parks, forest recreation areas and wildlife management areas? Yes
  • Carry when traveling by private plane? Yes
  • Carry in places of worship? The church is entitled to post a NO GUNS sign since it is a private property.

Subd. 1d.

  • (a) Except as provided under paragraphs (d) and (f), whoever possesses, stores, or keeps a dangerous weapon while knowingly on school property is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.
  • (b) Whoever uses or brandishes a replica firearm or a BB gun while knowingly on school property is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
  • (c) Whoever possesses, stores, or keeps a replica firearm or a BB gun while knowingly on school property is guilty of a misdemeanor.
  • (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), (b), or (c), it is a misdemeanor for a person authorized to carry a firearm under the provisions of a permit or otherwise to carry a firearm on or about the person’s clothes or person in a location the person knows is school property. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.
  • (e) As used in this subdivision:
    1.  “BB gun” means a device that fires or ejects a shot measuring .18 of an inch or less in diameter;
    2.  “dangerous weapon” has the meaning given it in section 609.02, subdivision 6;
    3.  “replica firearm” has the meaning given it in section 609.713; and
    4.  “school property” means:
    1.  a public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school building and its improved grounds, whether leased or owned by the school;
    2.  a child care center licensed under chapter 245A during the period children are present and participating in a child care program;
    3.  the area within a school bus when that bus is being used by a school to transport one or more elementary, middle, or secondary school students to and from school-related activities, including curricular, cocurricular, noncurricular, extracurricular, and supplementary activities; and
    4.  that portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a public or private school, a school district, or an association of such entities where conspicuous signs are prominently posted at each entrance that give actual notice to persons of the school-related use.
  • (f) This subdivision does not apply to:
    1.  active licensed peace officers;
    2.  military personnel or students participating in military training, who are on-duty, performing official duties;
    3.  persons authorized to carry a pistol under section 624.714 while in a motor vehicle or outside of a motor vehicle to directly place a firearm in, or retrieve it from, the trunk or rear area of the vehicle;
    4.  persons who keep or store in a motor vehicle pistols in accordance with section 624.714 or 624.715 or other firearms in accordance with section 97B.045;
    5.  firearm safety or marksmanship courses or activities conducted on school property;
    6.  possession of dangerous weapons, BB guns, or replica firearms by a ceremonial color guard;
    7.  a gun or knife show held on school property;
    8.  possession of dangerous weapons, BB guns, or replica firearms with written permission of the principal or other person having general control and supervision of the school or the director of a child care center; or
    9.  persons who are on unimproved property owned or leased by a child care center, school, or school district unless the person knows that a student is currently present on the land for a school-related activity.
  • (g) Notwithstanding section 471.634, a school district or other entity composed exclusively of school districts may not regulate firearms, ammunition, or their respective components, when possessed or carried by nonstudents or nonemployees, in a manner that is inconsistent with this subdivision.

Subd. 1g.

  • (a) A person who commits either of the following acts is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both:
  1.  possesses a dangerous weapon, ammunition, or explosives within any courthouse complex; or
  2.  possesses a dangerous weapon, ammunition, or explosives in any state building within the Capitol Area described in chapter 15B, other than the National Guard Armory.
  • (b) Unless a person is otherwise prohibited or restricted by other law to possess a dangerous weapon, this subdivision does not apply to:
  1.  licensed peace officers or military personnel who are performing official duties;
  2.  persons who carry pistols according to the terms of a permit issued under section 624.714 and who so notify the sheriff or the commissioner of public safety, as appropriate;
  3.  persons who possess dangerous weapons for the purpose of display as demonstrative evidence during testimony at a trial or hearing or exhibition in compliance with advance notice and safety guidelines set by the sheriff or the commissioner of public safety; or
  4.  persons who possess dangerous weapons in a courthouse complex with the express consent of the county sheriff or who possess dangerous weapons in a state building with the express consent of the commissioner of public safety.
  • (c) For purposes of this subdivision, the issuance of a permit to carry under section 624.714 constitutes notification of the commissioner of public safety as required under paragraph (b), clause (2).

§Subdivision 1.Definition.

“Contraband” is any controlled substance as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, or any intoxicating or alcoholic liquor or malt beverage.

Subd. 2.Acts prohibited.

  • (a) Whoever introduces or in any manner causes the introduction of contraband, as defined in subdivision 1, into any jail, lockup, or correctional facility, as defined in section 241.021, subdivision 1, without the consent of the person in charge, or is found in possession of contraband while within the facility or upon the grounds thereof, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
  • (b) Whoever introduces or in any manner causes the introduction of a dangerous weapon, as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 6, into any jail, lockup, or correctional facility, as defined in section 241.021, subdivision 1, without the consent of the person in charge, or is found in possession of a dangerous weapon while within the facility or upon the grounds thereof, is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years.

Subd. 3.Exceptions.
The provisions of this section shall not apply to physicians carrying drugs into such institutions for use in the practice of their profession, nor to peace officers carrying revolvers or firearms in the discharge of their duties.

Minnesota Gun Laws & Statutes

Current Minnesota Firearms Laws

Minnesota Gun Laws You Need to Know

All the most important Minnesota gun laws you should be aware of are listed below. Make yourself familiar with these laws before you carry a firearm.

Vehicle Carry

Without a carry permit you are not allowed to carry any loaded firearm in a vehicle. If you unload the firearm and place it either in a closed trunk or in a closed and fastened case, gunbox or securely tied package then it is legal to carry the firearm in a motor vehicle, snowmobile or boat. With a carry permit you will be able to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle.

Subd.9(5)
to transport a pistol in a motor vehicle, snowmobile or boat if the pistol is unloaded, contained in a closed and fastened case, gunbox, or securely tied package.

Subdivision 1.Restrictions. A person may not transport a firearm in a motor vehicle unless the firearm is:

  1.  unloaded and in a gun case expressly made to contain a firearm, and the case fully encloses the firearm by being zipped, snapped, buckled, tied, or otherwise fastened, and without any portion of the firearm exposed;
  2.  unloaded and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or
  3.  a handgun carried in compliance with sections 624.714 and 624.715.

 

Subd. 2.Exception; disabled persons. The restrictions in subdivision 1 do not apply to a disabled person if:

  1.  the person possesses a permit under section 97B.055, subdivision 3; and
  2.  the firearm is not loaded in the chamber until the vehicle is stationary, or is a hinge action firearm with the action open until the vehicle is stationary.

 

Subd. 3.Exceptions; hunting and shooting ranges. (a) Notwithstanding provisions to the contrary under this chapter, a person may transport an unloaded, uncased firearm, excluding a pistol as defined in paragraph (b), in a motor vehicle while at a shooting range, as defined under section 87A.01, subdivision 3, where the person has received permission from the lawful owner or possessor to discharge firearms; lawfully hunting on private or public land; or traveling to or from a site the person intends to hunt lawfully that day or has hunted lawfully that day, unless:

  1.  within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey County;
  2.  within the boundaries of a home rule charter or statutory city with a population of 2,500 or more;
  3.  on school grounds; or
  4.  otherwise restricted under section 97A.091, 97B.081, or 97B.086.

 

(b) For the purposes of this section, a “pistol” includes a weapon designed to be fired by the use of a single hand and with an overall length less than 26 inches, or having a barrel or barrels of a length less than 18 inches in the case of a shotgun or having a barrel of a length less than 16 inches in the case of a rifle:

 

  1.  from which may be fired or ejected one or more solid projectiles by means of a cartridge or shell or by the action of an explosive or the igniting of flammable or explosive substances; or
  2.  for which the propelling force is a spring, elastic band, carbon dioxide, air or other gas, or vapor.

 

Pistol does not include a device firing or ejecting a shot measuring .18 of an inch, or less, in diameter and commonly known as a “BB gun,” a scuba gun, a stud gun or nail gun used in the construction industry, or children’s pop guns or toys.

Open Carry

To open carry in Minnesota you will need a carry permit from either Minnesota or a state whose permits Minnesota honours. Local authorities cannot restrict open carry as the state law preempts all local laws. A first conviction of open carry without a permit is classed as a gross demeanour and a second conviction is a felony.

Subd. 1a.

A person, other than a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, who carries, holds, or possesses a pistol in a motor vehicle, snowmobile, or boat, or on or about the person’s clothes or the person, or otherwise in possession or control in a public place, as defined in section 624.7181, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), without first having obtained a permit to carry the pistol is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

A person who is convicted a second or subsequent time is guilty of a felony.

Must Inform Officer

You are not required to inform a police officer that you are carrying a firearm. However, if a police officer requests to see your permit you must hand it to him and if he asks if you are carrying a concealed weapon then you must confirm wether or not you are. The law requires you to have on your person a carry permit and some form of state ID such as a drivers licence when you are carrying a firearm.

Subd. 1b.

  • (a) The holder of a permit to carry must have the permit card and a driver’s license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document upon lawful demand by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1. A violation of this paragraph is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.
  • (b) A citation issued for violating paragraph (a) must be dismissed if the person demonstrates, in court or in the office of the arresting officer, that the person was authorized to carry the pistol at the time of the alleged violation.
  • (c) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder must write a sample signature in the officer’s presence to aid in verifying the person’s identity.
  • (d) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder shall disclose to the officer whether or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm.

No Gun Signs Enforced

Gun signs are not enforced in Minnesota and do not have the force of law. The only time a gun sign would have the force of law is if it is posted on state property that is mentioned in state law as being off-limits. If you enter a posted property and are asked to leave then you will need to leave. Failure to leave can result in a trespass charge.

Subd. 17.

  • (a) A person carrying a firearm on or about his or her person or clothes under a permit or otherwise who remains at a private establishment knowing that the operator of the establishment or its agent has made a reasonable request that firearms not be brought into the establishment may be ordered to leave the premises. A person who fails to leave when so requested is guilty of a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this subdivision is not subject to forfeiture.
  • (b) As used in this subdivision, the terms in this paragraph have the meanings given.
    1.  “Reasonable request” means a request made under the following circumstances:
      1.  the requester has prominently posted a conspicuous sign at every entrance to the establishment containing the following language: “(INDICATE IDENTITY OF OPERATOR) BANS GUNS IN THESE PREMISES.”; or
      2.  the requester or the requester’s agent personally informs the person that guns are prohibited in the premises and demands compliance.
    2.  “Prominently” means readily visible and within four feet laterally of the entrance with the bottom of the sign at a height of four to six feet above the floor.
    3.  “Conspicuous” means lettering in black arial typeface at least 1-1/2 inches in height against a bright contrasting background that is at least 187 square inches in area.
    4.  “Private establishment” means a building, structure, or portion thereof that is owned, leased, controlled, or operated by a nongovernmental entity for a nongovernmental purpose.
  • (c) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area.
  • (d) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), within the private establishment or deny the officer access thereto, except when specifically authorized by statute. The owner or operator of the private establishment may require the display of official credentials issued by the agency that employs the peace officer prior to granting the officer entry into the private establishment.
  • (e) This subdivision does not apply to private residences. The lawful possessor of a private residence may prohibit firearms, and provide notice thereof, in any lawful manner.
  • (f) A landlord may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or their guests.
  • (g) Notwithstanding any inconsistent provisions in section 609.605, this subdivision sets forth the exclusive criteria to notify a permit holder when otherwise lawful firearm possession is not allowed in a private establishment and sets forth the exclusive penalty for such activity.
  • (h) This subdivision does not apply to a security guard acting in the course and scope of employment. The owner or operator of a private establishment may require the display of official credentials issued by the company, which must be licensed by the Private Detective and Protective Agent Services Board, that employs the security guard and the guard’s permit card prior to granting the guard entrance into the private establishment.

Must Inform Officer

You are not required to inform a police officer that you are carrying a firearm. However, if a police officer requests to see your permit you must hand it to him and if he asks if you are carrying a concealed weapon then you must confirm wether or not you are. The law requires you to have on your person a carry permit and some form of state ID such as a drivers licence when you are carrying a firearm.

Subd. 1b.

  • (a) The holder of a permit to carry must have the permit card and a driver’s license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document upon lawful demand by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1. A violation of this paragraph is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.
  • (b) A citation issued for violating paragraph (a) must be dismissed if the person demonstrates, in court or in the office of the arresting officer, that the person was authorized to carry the pistol at the time of the alleged violation.
  • (c) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder must write a sample signature in the officer’s presence to aid in verifying the person’s identity.
  • (d) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder shall disclose to the officer whether or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm.

No Gun Signs Enforced

Gun signs are not enforced in Minnesota and do not have the force of law. The only time a gun sign would have the force of law is if it is posted on state property that is mentioned in state law as being off-limits. If you enter a posted property and are asked to leave then you will need to leave. Failure to leave can result in a trespass charge.

Subd. 17.

  • (a) A person carrying a firearm on or about his or her person or clothes under a permit or otherwise who remains at a private establishment knowing that the operator of the establishment or its agent has made a reasonable request that firearms not be brought into the establishment may be ordered to leave the premises. A person who fails to leave when so requested is guilty of a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this subdivision is not subject to forfeiture.
  • (b) As used in this subdivision, the terms in this paragraph have the meanings given.
    1.  “Reasonable request” means a request made under the following circumstances:
      1.  the requester has prominently posted a conspicuous sign at every entrance to the establishment containing the following language: “(INDICATE IDENTITY OF OPERATOR) BANS GUNS IN THESE PREMISES.”; or
      2.  the requester or the requester’s agent personally informs the person that guns are prohibited in the premises and demands compliance.
    2.  “Prominently” means readily visible and within four feet laterally of the entrance with the bottom of the sign at a height of four to six feet above the floor.
    3.  “Conspicuous” means lettering in black arial typeface at least 1-1/2 inches in height against a bright contrasting background that is at least 187 square inches in area.
    4.  “Private establishment” means a building, structure, or portion thereof that is owned, leased, controlled, or operated by a nongovernmental entity for a nongovernmental purpose.
  • (c) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area.
  • (d) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), within the private establishment or deny the officer access thereto, except when specifically authorized by statute. The owner or operator of the private establishment may require the display of official credentials issued by the agency that employs the peace officer prior to granting the officer entry into the private establishment.
  • (e) This subdivision does not apply to private residences. The lawful possessor of a private residence may prohibit firearms, and provide notice thereof, in any lawful manner.
  • (f) A landlord may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or their guests.
  • (g) Notwithstanding any inconsistent provisions in section 609.605, this subdivision sets forth the exclusive criteria to notify a permit holder when otherwise lawful firearm possession is not allowed in a private establishment and sets forth the exclusive penalty for such activity.
  • (h) This subdivision does not apply to a security guard acting in the course and scope of employment. The owner or operator of a private establishment may require the display of official credentials issued by the company, which must be licensed by the Private Detective and Protective Agent Services Board, that employs the security guard and the guard’s permit card prior to granting the guard entrance into the private establishment.